On June 30 an awful storm swept through our area, including a tornado that went right by our neighborhood. This tree is about 36″ diameter at its base, and still blocks our driveway as we’re waiting for the insurance adjuster to stop by. Two other downed trees blocked our road, so I couldn’t even leave our house until a neighbor cut them away. Mike was out of town on vacation with his parents, our daughter and her family; we had no electricity and of course I didn’t know how to hook up the generator.

The temperature was 103 the next day, and hovered between 99 and 104 for the next week. No power meant no watering, as we’re on a well and the well pump doesn’t work, of course, without power. Three days without electricity  to water and record high temperatures nearly wiped out my veggies and flowers. I have very few blooms on the veggies, and I’m not sure whether they’ll be able to recover. Luckily we had lots of our famous Hanover tomatoes on the vines and we’re getting a good harvest right now.

Hanover tomatoes aren’t a variety that you can grow, unless you live in Hanover County, Virginia. There’s something special about our sandy soil that provides the ideal growing conditions for tomatoes, so any variety can be a Hanover tomato as long as it’s grown in our county.

If I’m lucky, the gazillion tomato volunteers I had pop up in June will provide a later harvest for August and September, if only the extreme weather and storms will spare us. I’m just drooling to can some tomatoes and spaghetti sauce so I can enjoy the tomatoes this winter, too.

