One thing I committed to learning to do is to can my fruits & veggies, so I spent this past weekend researching recipes & methods. My sister-in-law gave me about 50 jars, so I was ahead of the game in terms of investment.

My thornless blackberries have been abundant. The awful heat wave we’ve had the past 2 weeks are wreaking havoc on most everything else; the tomatoes are small and tough so my neighbor Cathryn gave me about a bushel to supplement what we’ve got coming in, plus about 1/4 bushel of green beans. I bought some local white corn at the farmer’s market, 15 ears at 3 ears for $1; they were unloading the corn off the farmer’s truck when I arrived so it was fresh from the field that morning.

Again, my investment was small thanks to what I grew, bought and begged for the project.
My water bath canning pot would work fine for the tomatoes & jellies, but I found out I needed a pressure canner for the corn and green beans. Enter my great neighbor Jane to the rescue with hers!

I’ve been making jellies for several weeks, but canning veggies is a bit different so I had a lot to learn. If you’re interested in learning to can, you’ll find no better source than www.pickyourown.org!

Here’s what I managed to can this weekend:

  • Corn
  • Tomatoes
  • Tomato puree
  • Tomato juice (from what was left after peeling the tomatoes)
  • Spaghetti sauce
  • Green Beans
  • Blackberry Jelly
  • Mixed berry jelly (blackberry, raspberry & strawberry)

Canning is something I’ve wanted to learn for years, so I was mighty proud of what I accomplished. Great fresh food, and what I grew is organic. It’s a lot of work, but I feel rich with all that food on the shelves waiting for me to enjoy this winter. As I stood back and snapped a photo of my bounty, I realized that if I’d spent the same amount of time working on a website project I’m in the midst of, my farm fresh canned goodies only cost me about $35 per jar. If I’d spent the same amount of time working at what I’m really good at, I would have made enough money to buy enough canned food to fill my 2 car garage. But I guess that’s not really what it’s all about…

