winter-fruit-salad
I crave fresh fruit and salads in the winter, and I threw together this little fruit salad last week with bananas, kiwi and pomegranate. It was DELECTABLE! I’ve been eating every day for a week now, and find I’m really looking forward to it now. I love the contrasts of the colors, flavors and textures. I do feel it’s important to cut the banana and kiwi into small pieces so that it’s easy to get the full variety in each bite! I will enjoy this every day until pomegranates are gone from the grocery shelves. (I have indeed saved some seeds to try to start a few pomegranate trees which are supposed to be hardy here in zone 7).

ball-jar-storage

I use 1/4 pomegranate per serving, and store the juicy arils in a mason jar in the fridge. I have actually started using mason jars a lot for leftovers; I prefer glass containers over plastic, and the same lid fits several size jars. My pet peeve is those bundles of food containers that all require a different lid, and I never seem to be able to pair up any of the 60 assorted lids in the cabinet to the container I’ve put the food into. I purge the odd containers regularly, but the needed lid must be where ever it is that single socks go to hide.

If a pomegranate intimidates you, here’s how to prepare them:

Fill a large bowl with water. Place the uncut fruit in the water, and cut in half. Since it’s in water, you won’t get that red juice all over your counter. Gently separate the arils from the membranes; the white membrane will float to the top and the arils sink to the bottom. I then dump it all into a strainer over the sink, pick out the membranes and rinse the arils under running water. Shake off the excess water, spread them on a paper towel and pat them dry gently.

